Posted by: pgprm08 | November 16, 2009

Amit Kataria – ROSE Computer Academy


Social Entrepreneur उवाच –

“I became an entrepreneur, because I wanted to contribute to the betterment of my village!”

My Story

Intro

Technology is already transforming lives in India, improving education and fueling economic growth, but many places are still left behind in the degital dived. Amit founded the ROSE Computer Academy with the vision to spread computer literacy all over in India.

About Me

My name is Amit Kataria and I am 23 years old. I grew up in a middle class family in Choma Village of Gurgaon, Haryana (INDIA). My father is a farmer and my mother is a housewife. I studied at the Govt. Sr. Sec. School, Patel Nagar, New Delhi and graduated from the Delhi UniversityIn 2008 I won the All India ICT Business Competition Award organized by YES and started my own business, a computer school, when I was only 19 years old.

I became an entrepreneur, because I wanted to contribute to the betterment of my village. Even though Choma is prosperous where almost every family owns land but the literacy rates are very low. While the whole of Haryana is getting industrialized, Choma village had no computer institute. People have not realized the importance of computer literacy for their children and themselves. I learnt computers and realized its potential in making my community more independent and in the long run contributing to the strengthening of the economy and the nation at large. That’s why I opened ROSE Computer Academy in my village.

My Venture

My venture name is ROSE Computer Academy, which I started in 2007. The Academy have a fully furnish computer lab with ten computers where we teach all kind of comuter skills such as basic computer knowledge but also computer languages and DTP. So far more than two hundred students successfully completed their courses and two women open their own enterprises.

We also provide coaching classes from class first to Graduation for students, and more than 82 students joined school. For last two years ROSE students have achieved 100% result for those students who were going to school, including those students who were failing for last two years.

In the near future I want to expand our and open 2 or 3 more branches near by the villages. My dream is “Literate India”, I want to open ROSE’s branches all over in India so that I can give education every child of my country as well as I want to spread computer literacy all over in India. My aim is to train them in such manner that they can earn their livelihood easily.

Reference http://www.paragon100.asia/index.php/component/content/article/51-india/102-amit-kataria

Anup

LG-7

Responses

  1. I THINK aMIT IS A VERY DOWN TO EARTH PERSON WHO HAVE A VISION AND COURAGE LIKE rATAN TATA! aND i CONGRATULATE HIM THAT HE HAS TAKEN THIS KIND OF ASSIGNMENT WHICH HELP PEOPLE!

  2. Hi Amit…this is a great initiative….I would like to Inform about the Computer Society of India….they will be launching a knowledge management portal on Tue 16th Feb 2010……do check it out at http://bit.ly/cdps21…….Its a great oppurtunity for you to interact wit some of the countries top IT professionals and share your ideas and stuff like that…..


Leave a Reply

Categories

